Winners announced for 2020 Victorian Sport Awards

The Victorian Sport Awards is the night of nights for the Victorian sporting community and celebrate participants, organisers, initiatives and the volunteers behind the scenes from all levels of sport in Victoria.

Presented by the State Government of Victoria and Vicsport on Wednesday 6 October 2021, the Victorian Sport Awards acknowledged the fun, inclusive and innovative activities that individuals and clubs undertook during lockdown to remain connected with their clubs and community while also celebrating the state’s return to play.

Entrants in the Awards were nominated by friends, family, teammates, club members or their local community in recognition of their outstanding contribution to sport and active recreation.

This year, the inaugural Sports Accounting Australia Sport Initiative of the Year Award was presented. This award recognised the work of individuals, clubs, teams, groups or organisations who succeeded in enabling more people to participate in sport activities during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The most prestigious honour bestowed on the night is the Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award, presented to an individual in recognition of outstanding achievement in, or contribution to, sport in Victoria.

This year’s recipient was Malcolm Speed AO. Speed has had a long and distinguished career as lawyer, sports administrator and company director and was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame in 2012 for his tireless work in shaping cricket and basketball as well as his invaluable involvement in various sports including cycling, golf and Australian rules football.

Vicsport Chairman Ron Gauci said:

“After our industry responded so well to the challenges of 2020, the Victorian Sport Awards was a wonderful celebration of the Victorian sporting community. The calibre of finalists and winners are an indication of the strength and resilience of our industry in Victoria who battled a year like no other while finding innovative ways to stay connected.

“In addition, it was a privilege to honour Malcolm Speed AO after his incredible career of service to sport, both at home and abroad.”

The Hon. Ros Spence, Minister for Community Sport said:

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees recognised and honoured at this year’s Victorian Sport Awards. Outstanding dedication and inspirational work behind the scenes shown by these unsung heroes helped our sports break through a challenging 2020. It’s fantastic to see them getting the recognition they deserve.”

Winners in the eight categories of the 2020 Victorian Sport Awards are as follows:

Bunnings Trade Local Government Initiative of the Year

  • #CaseyGirlsCan Program – City of Casey

GameDay Administrator of the Year – Eunice Gill Award

  • Lisa Hasker – Vicsport

Involve Group Outstanding Media Coverage of Sport Award

  • Raff Agostino – School Sport Victoria

Love the Game Volunteer of the Year

  • Richard Lawysz – Athletics Victoria

Sport Group Peter Norman Inclusion Award

  • Stella Lesic – Queer Sporting Alliance

Sports Accounting Australia Sport Initiative of the Year (inaugural award)

  • North West Travel League – Softball

VicHealth Active Recreation Initiative of the Year

  • FitSkills – La Trobe University

Outstanding Contribution to Victorian Sport Award

  • Malcolm Speed AO

The 2020 Victorian Sport Awards are available to re-watch here.

Government Partners

Preferred Suppliers